All Things CC:

All things Commuication & Computing….

The “Power” of Intel – Literally

leave a comment »

This week I setup the Sony Blu-ray Player with GoogleTV. I couldn’t wait for my Logitech Revue to be delivered and grabbed the Sony from their store in Atlanta. I took a lot of pictures, one particular picture triggered the idea for this post – the Power of Intel. The new AppleTV is really small. In fact so small that the fan, yes the FAN, on the Sony Player is comparable to the entire AppleTV. I strongly suspect that the size impact of the Sony GoogleTV Blu-ray Player is because of the Intel Sodaville CE4100 SOC. The fan also makes me think how much power would this be consuming as well the amount of heat that needs to be dissipated. Fortunately the fan was pretty quiet – I could not hear it when I brought my ear very close to it as well. The lack of of good power management on the Sony GoogleTV was obvious when the setup process of GoogleTV prompted for “Quick start”.

Written by Ashu Joshi

October 21, 2010 at 2:43 pm

Posted in Internet TV, Processors

Leave a Reply

